NASA Announcement

*From:* NASA News <>
*Date:* February 14, 2012 9:09:39 AM MST
*To:* NASA News <>
*Subject:* *NASA Announces Third Round Of CubeSat Space Mission Candidates*

Feb. 14, 2012

Joshua Buck
Headquarters, Washington

RELEASE: 12-050


WASHINGTON — NASA has selected 33 small satellites to fly as
auxiliary payloads aboard rockets planned to launch in 2013 and 2014.
The proposed CubeSats come from universities across the country, the
Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation, NASA field centers and
Department of Defense organizations.

CubeSats are a class of research spacecraft called nanosatellites. The
cube-shaped satellites are approximately four inches long, have a
volume of about one quart and weigh less than three pounds.

The selections are from the third round of the CubeSat Launch
Initiative. After launch, the satellites will conduct technology
demonstrations, educational research or science missions. The
selected spacecraft are eligible for flight after final negotiations
and an opportunity for flight becomes available. The satellites come
from the following organizations:

— Air Force Institute of Technology, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
— Air Force Research Lab, Wright-Patterson AFB
— California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
— Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.
— Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge
— Montana State University, Bozeman
— Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey, Calif. (2 CubeSats)
— NASA’s Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif.
— NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.
— NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, in partnership with the
California Institute of Technology, Pasadena (2 CubeSats)
— NASA’s Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, Fla.
— The Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation, Silver Spring, Md.
— Saint Louis University, St. Louis
— Salish Kootenai College, Pablo, Mont.
— Space and Missile Defense Command, Huntsville, Ala. (2 CubeSats)
— Taylor University, Upland, Ind.
— University of Alabama, Huntsville
— University of California, Berkeley
— University of Colorado, Boulder (2 CubeSats)
— University of Hawaii, Manoa (3 CubeSats)
— University of Illinois, Urbana (2 CubeSats)
— University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
— University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, N.D.
— University of Texas, Austin
— US Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colo.
— Virginia Tech University, Blacksburg

Thirty-two CubeSat missions have been selected for launch in the
previous two rounds of the CubeSat Launch Initiative. Eight CubeSat
missions have been launched (including five selected via the CubeSat
Launch Initiative) to date via the agency’s Launch Services Program
Educational Launch of Nanosatellite, or ELaNa, program.